Aasbo Battles the Champions for 2nd Place at Formula Drift Las Vegas! 27 August 2012, 9:15 am

Huge congrats go out to Fredric Aasbo and the Need for Speed Scion Racing team on their 2nd place finish at Formula Drift in Las Vegas! The crew was in absolute dominant form throughout the weekend.  Aasbo performed consistent run after run exemplified by his qualifying scores of 89.5 and 89 – putting him in the number 1 spot going into Saturday. Ensuring he didn’t have an easy run to the podium, Aasbo was forced to battle with some of FD’s finest including four former Formula Drift Champions – Chris Forsberg 2009, Dai Yoshihara 2011, Vaughn Gitten Jr. 2010, and Rhys Millen 2005.


In the final against Millen, Aasbo slipped up for the first time all weekend making contact with the wall.  The Need for Speed team, lead by Stephan Papadakis managed to get the tC repaired and back to the starting line under the 5 minutes allotted.  Aasbo gave a great last run but it wasn’t enough to overtake Millen. It was a tremendous effort by all.  The podium finsih moves Aasbo up to 6th place in the overall standings with Ken Gushi in the GReddy Racing FR-S just behind in 8th.  Tony Angelo is currently sitting in 23rd.  Only one event is left – Round 7 in Irwindale October 12-13.


Stay tuned for a full recap in Driven to Drift Episode 6 coming soon!

Fredric Aasbo Takes 2nd at Formula Drift Las Vegas

More photos available on the Scion Racing Facebook Page.

Tags: / / / / / / / /

More Like This